Show and Tell

show_and_tell

This is my first time at the front of the class. Don’t forget to check out what everybody is showing . This weekend I’ve spent the time trying to reorganize the mess that is my house. All in all, I’ve binned 7 huge black sacks full of random rubbish and junk. So I wanted to share with you some of the sentimental so called “junk”.

In this picture you can see the program for Wicked, 1 White Sox vs. Red Sox ticket dated August 25 2007, two vouchers for the White Sox stadium club at the Cell (which my friend still calls Comiskey), 1 ticket stub from a Kane County Cougars game.

My Junk

Back in August 2007 I made a trip across the Atlantic and landed in Chicago. it was the first face to face meeting with a friend I had known online for over a year. I was a nervous wreck. Not kidding. I hid in the ladies at baggage claim for 20 minutes just to work up the courage to go out those doors and meet him, actually considering if a 9 hour flight home was at all possible.

But I’m so glad I did make it into the arrival hall. M and his wife turned out to be some of the funniest, most welcoming people I’ve had the pleasure of meeting. In fact my trip was filled with smiling faces. Chicago is amazing fun, just as thrilling as NYC but less stressed out. The lake is stunning and when I saw it was the most amazing color. I could sit and look at it for hours. I couldn’t tell you whether it was the wonderful food I ate, the crazy thunderstorms that scared the bejebus out of me (I’ve never seen rain like that before!) or one of the *5* baseball games I saw that qualifies as my favorite memory, but I can tell you Chicago is now my number one US city and I often use the memories of this trip to remind me of happier times. So, this junk I’ll be holding onto. It’s funny the little mementos we keep… they may be rubbish to others but they remind us of so much…

The one line that comes to mind is from Wicked “because I knew you I have been changed for good“. It applies to the couple I met of course… But even just to the city itself. I’ll be back someday!

 In terms of baseball I’ll always be on the Sox side of this town.

11 thoughts on “Show and Tell

  1. What a cool thing to do–which took a shitload of courage. Good for you 🙂 (and good for you with the clean-up session this weekend).

  2. I keep hearing really good, fun things about Chicago…I’d love to visit someday. What an awesome way to be introduced to a new city – with new friends. Really cool.

  3. Organize things! Yes, that’s something I too need to really do now. I also have several keepsakes – trivia, memories, parking lot tickets even! 🙂

    Welcome to Show and Tell! See you around!

  4. That is a lot of trash to get rid of! CHEERS! I tend to be huge pack rat.

    I am dying to visit Chicago. I’ve been to most US cities, but not this one. Someday, when I am not tied to a fertility clinic, I shall travel again. thanks for sharing…and stopping by my blog. The comments bring lots of smiles over here!

    Carrie

  5. You are very brave for getting rid of your sentimental stuff. I finally trashed my old positive pee sticks from my first pregnancy 9 years ago. They moved with us twice before I realized that is way to long to keep old urine and ditched them.

  6. What a fun trip! I have always wanted to visit Chicago but it is still on my “Places to Go” list and not my “Places I’ve Been.”

    I would LOVE to catch a Red Sox game!

  7. Pingback: I didn’t say it was your fault ..I said I was going to blame you. « Cyster A.C.T.

Leave a Reply

