Can I have a word … I’m an opinionated little madam.

I saw this over at Polka Dots & Pansies…  I also enjoy well mannered discussion and debate…

So here it is. Real questions…With my real answers!

Would you do crystal meth if it were legalized?

No WAY!

Abortion, for or against?

I am reluctantly pro-choice. I would never have an abortion, I don’t think I should be the one to make the choice for someone else abortion should be seen as a last resort tho not a safety net or an acceptable contraceptive

Would the country fall if there was a woman president?

Helll noo (This question was asked by a man wasn’t it?!)   

Do you believe in the death penalty?

No. I believe punishing someone by descending to their level is hypocritical. I agree some crimes are abhorrent child murder or molestation for example… but I’m not convinced the death penalty is the answer. Also I don’t believe you can ever be 100 % certain of someone’s guilt and balance of probability is not enough for me to take the risk of killing an innocent person.  

Do you wish marijuana would be legalized already?

Umm no, not really… legal or not I wouldn’t use it… I only believe in the legalization of cannabis for medicinal purposes 

Do you believe in God?

Yes I do

Do you think same sex marriage should be legalized?

100 % yes… Any two adults in love and committed to each other should be allowed to marry if they so desire.

Do you think it’s wrong so many Hispanics are moving to the USA?

I think it’s unfair of me to comment… not living in the USA.  I don’t know the situation well enough to have an opinion. Generally I think moving to the USA legally is a great idea… I’d do so myself if it were possible.  

A 12 year old girl has a baby…should she keep it?

Ok here’s the deal for me… can she even keep it? Like medically is this wise. .. Pregnancy is tough! Other than that, she should be allowed to keep it if she has a good support system in place and can care for the child just like any other mother. She should NOT feel forced to keep it though.

Should the alcohol drinking age be lowered to 18?

Hmmm… it is 18 over here… and we keep thinking about raising it to be 21. Here’s the deal for me… If your country considers you old enough and responsible enough to vote or to go to war, then surely that same country must believe you are capable of making your own choices about drink. No?

Should the war in Iraq be called off?

Well… I didn’t agree with the war in Iraq in the first place… but now that we went in there and created a mess I don’t believe in pulling out before the country is returned to some sort of order and stability either.  

Assisted suicide is legal…do you agree?

 Over here its not legal, For me it’s all about whether the person concerned has truly made conscious decision. If they have, I wouldn’t want to stand in their way. Everyone deserves to be pain free and die with dignity. However, the topic makes me uneasy. There are so many things that could influence a person’s decision. Health wise, some days are often worse than others or the person may be feeling they are a burden etc., so it’s hard to tell.

Do you believe in spanking your children?

I believe in disciplining children. I’m not convinced you absolutely need the back of your hand to do this effectively. 

Would you burn the American flag for a million dollars?

No. Really I wouldn’t (and I’m not even American 😛 ) 

A mother is declared innocent after murdering her 5 children in a temporary insanity case…what do you think?

I’m not sure that I completely support the plea of Temporary Insanity. I prefer diminished responsibility. I think she should still be guilty but of manslaughter not murder.  Even so she will still have to live with the fact that she murdered 5 of her own kids, regardless of whether the court says she’s innocent living with what she did will be a life sentence in itself.

So there we are… the opinions of this 26 year old Brit chick.  Feel free to disagree with me. Take a copy and let me know what you think… Let’s be polite ok?  Everybody deserves respect even if you disagree with them!

2 thoughts on “Can I have a word … I’m an opinionated little madam.

  1. Great answers! I’ve done this one before, not sure if it was on my blog though. I think I agree with ll of them except the drinking age. I believe us Americans might abuse that privilege. I could be wrong, wouldn’t be the first time..lol
    *ICLW*

Leave a Reply

