Cooking up a storm ~ Cod,Prawn & Corn Chowder

So one thing that’s stated twice on my plan is that I must learn to cook better (both because I enjoy it and it would be great for my diet). I’m not the world’s best cook, it has to be said, but you can’t improve without practice, right?  I’ve decided that in order to help keep me in the kitchen I’m going to try at least one new recipe a week. Hopefully I can share them with you here under the title “Cooking Up a Storm” because, after all, usually when I get done my kitchen does look like a small tornado past through it!

I will be trying to make the things that I chose relevant to my changes in diet (there will be naughty weeks though because I LOVE to bake!). This week something to do with fish (because I need to eat more of it)

Cod, Prawn & Corn Chowder

Serves 4

Ready in 40 minutes

273 calories per serving (so I’m told)

Ingredients:

1 medium onion

2 medium potatoes

2 carrots

10 ml (2 tsp) sunflower oil

300ml semi skimmed milk

1 vegetable stock cube

100g (3 1/2 oz) can of sweet corn

100g (3 oz) frozen peas

50 grams prawns

400g cod / haddock fillets cubed

 

Method

1. Peel and finely chop onion. Peal and dice potatoes & carrots

2. Heat oil in a large pan and add the onion, potatoes, and carrots. Cook for a few minutes stirring. Add the milk and 300ml water, crumble in the stock cube cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes.

3. Add sweet corn, peas, prawns and fish. Cover and continue to simmer for a further 10 minutes. Serve chowder in bowls with chucks of crust whole grain bread.

And there it is… I really enjoyed my dinner tonight. I hope you like it.

If you have an recipe suggestions for me to try please get in touch!

Bon appetite

Ali xX

One thought on “Cooking up a storm ~ Cod,Prawn & Corn Chowder

  1. I LOVE to cook, too, but am not *great* at it. I’m decent, but I don’t have enough recipes to have a really great repetoire. This chowder sounds both easy and yummy. . .I may have to give it a whirl. How did it come out for you?

    Happy ICLW!
    Jo

Leave a Reply

