Giving something back, having someone listen.

I am soooo excited!  I actually went out today and found out about some volunteering opportunities. I approached the British Red Cross.  I was so completely unaware of all the things they do just in the local community and I can’t wait to get out there and start helping out and doing some good. I am really looking forward to the first meeting that I have to go to on Thursday. Apparently I have to attend four weeks and then decide if it’s for me. Is it selfish to say that I think I might benefit from doing this just as much as the people they come into contact with?  Really relishing the chance to meet people again, learn new skills, etc. I’m sure you’ll be hearing more about this in the future.

Looks like I’ll have things to do again very soon! YAAY 😀

I also got a second contact for the volunteering service at the local hospital, but so far I haven’t been able to get in touch. Will keep tying though.

Oh oh… I took the first dose of Metformin today… and I haven’t felt sick at all but I failed to get hungry and forgot to eat dinner.  This getting three meals a day continues to be a pain in my behind :S

Speaking of the medication… I went to see the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) about my recent disastrous doctor’s appointment.  This is breaking new ground for me. Usually when I have a bad experience I just suck it up and move on… maybe – no definitely – bitching about it to my closet friends along the way  and/or refusing to go back. I really was so darn irritated after my appointment on Thursday, but I didn’t know where to turn. Google is your friend, or actually in this case maybe Gadget Guy’s friend.  He found me the details of this organization.  The tag line: NHS Wirral Have your say ~ so I decided for once that’s just what I would do instead of bitching and moaning. I’ll go and talk to someone who might be able to help, make sure it doesn’t happen again to me or anybody else for that matter. I actually found the service very friendly and approachable. I was able to tell the representative all about my issues. I mentioned all the issues that I talked about in my post:  the lack of eye contact, how I didn’t feel like what I said was being acknowledged and that I felt pushed out the door before my concerns were properly addressed. It was all noted – I even got to check over what had been written.  I can’t tell you how good I feel for having somebody official LISTEN to what I had to say. Anyhow, upshot of all this was I had the option to have the PALS’ representative call the surgery and complain for me but I decided instead just to keep the information on file in case of further issues (basically because I think a lot of the issue may have been that the doctor didn’t have my medical notes and that’s not her fault) but I will not hesitate to go back again if I am not given more respect in the future!

I’m not gonna be Miss Shut Up and Put Up With It anymore

Ali xX

K.S.: I looove watching Dancing with the Stars from the US. The show has me dancing in my chair lol (there will be no video evidence of this 😛 )

3 thoughts on “Giving something back, having someone listen.

  1. I did volunteering for quite some time at a hospital here in Portugal, working with pregnancy loss. I learnt so much and miss it dearly. Unfortunately I had to give it up because of my schedule at work.

  2. I’m glad to hear things went well with PALS, it must feel so good to have been able to do something about that shitty appointment.

    good luck with the volunteering 🙂

Leave a Reply

