Show and Tell

It show and tell time again. This week I’d like to share my small success with the class.  On Saturday, I undertook the 8 hour Basic First Aid Training with the British Red Cross.  It’s training I have done before about 5 years ago and I was amazed by how much advice and safe practice guidelines have changed in the past 2 months, even.  Not only am I excited that the first step in my route to becoming a full Volunteer is complete, but I truly believe this small amount of training is something most people should do. It’s not hard at all though it can be a lot of information to take in and I’m so glad I have my handouts to read over… but knowing how to help someone in medical distress is so very important. You just never know when you might come across a situation where what you are able to do could save a life. From now on I’ll be carrying a basic first aid kit at all times, hoping I never need to use it. I’ll be going shopping this week for a slightly bigger bag to hold it too, I think. No need to feel guilty if its for such a good reason.

 I Passed Woot !

I Passed Woot !

Make sure you check out what the rest of the class is showing.

show_and_tell

9 thoughts on “Show and Tell

  1. WooHoo! Good job! Such a great thing. I should wish that if I ever find myself in an emergency I am able to have someone as caring as you around.

  2. When I took my first First Aid course at summer camp as a child, I was constantly on the lookout for sprained fingers that I could splint with a popsicle stick! Hopefully you won’t need to use your skills for anything serious.

  3. congrats on passing Ali, I’m sorry to hear about your interview result but it’s a good sign that you actually got feedback from them and not just a 2 line no letter.

Leave a Reply

