So whats new ?

Well, a number of things have been going on in my life but none of them major enough to merit a post all of its own… so here I am with a mish mash of stuff to bring you up to date. In the past week I have:

* Finally managed to get myself and the dentist into the same room at the same time so I could have my final appointment, which involved a tooth being extracted. Much less painful and traumatic than I thought it was going to be but I the anesthetic stuff gave me one hell of a headache and I spent the rest of that day sleeping pretty much. I was very sad to learn that my oh so fantastic dentist that I just found – you know the one who has helped me get over my fear of anything dental – IS LEAVING!  Oh no!  Just when you find someone who doesn’t make you poo yer pants at the mere thought of sitting in their chair and looking up their nostrils they up and LEAVE…  the cheek of it! lol In fact she’s off back home to Estonia in hopes of actually having a summer next year and to be honest who can blame her, but I’m sorry to see her go and I’ll be scared of the dentist again until I find someone else I can get along with.

* I started college!!! Yeah, I know you would think this could be a post in its own right especially when they spring a test on us for our first session. A science test that I had no idea we would be getting and I haven’t even looked at a science textbook since High School GCSE year that would be 1999… TEN YEARS ago.  Now this test is purely to determine which groups we get put with and what modules we will study first. It’s not a pass or fail thing, so no need to panic thank goodness. Actually I surprised myself with the amount of information I managed to dredge up from the back of my mind to actually answer all the questions. Not saying all the answers are correct, but hay its got to be better than handing in a blank test.  Results next Monday eeps! It feels so good to actually be exercising my brain cells again.

* I travelled all the way to the hospital for another volunteer health check (different hospital about an hour away) only to be told that my appointment was not in their system and the nurse I was due to see was actually off sick. Ugh wasted a whole morning and will be going back in 10 days. On the plus side I have my appointment to get all my I.D. sorted on Tuesday and should still be able to do my two weeks work experience as planned in the beginning of October. Also found out that said hospital is undergoing massive construction work building what they claim will be the biggest IVF center in Europe. It all looks very impressive.

* Received my CRB enhanced disclosure back (think background check /criminal record check) and as expected as far as the police are concerned I am an ANGEL.  Pah. Clean report for me YAY! Its only taken 3 months for this to come through and I’m so glad its finally here because I should get my start date for volunteering at my local hospital (much closer than the one above) very soon.  I’m so excited to get started.  Hmmm perhaps these two hospitals need nicknames or something.

*Attended my medical review just this morning where I was examined and interrogated in order to determine if I should still receive my incapacity/sickness benefit. I’m so scared of the outcome because I am so concerned that I will get pushed back to looking for full time work before I’m really ready and wind up back in a depressed anxious mess and no good to anyone. I’ve been improving a lot and I just don’t want to get knocked back to where I stared. That, and moving me onto Jobseekers will mean a drop in income of about 40% and I’m not sure how I would manage. As usual they were giving no clues away at medical services, so I just have to cross my fingers and wait for a letter in the post.

So that’s what I’ve been up to recently and I admit I have been shockingly bad at actually blogging about it. Did ya miss me? lol  I’ll be away this weekend too – me and KM are going on a camping adventure  mostly for his benefit I might add and I’m more than a little nervous about it I have not slept in a tent for YEARS. The forecast is rain. Oh joy – I promise to come back and tell you all about it with pictures too if you’re lucky 🙂

Have a great weekend

Ali xX

2 thoughts on “So whats new ?

  1. I missed you, as well! YAY for college! Hopefully I’ll be right behind you in the college department. Glad your tooth is gone and not giving you any more pain. I’ll bet you will find an AMAZING dentist!

    Have fun camping, can’t wait to see the pictures!
    *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

