Still here … sort of.

I have not been this BUSY in years. I am not used to it and I’m exhausted and perhaps a little more stressed than I should be.

I’ve just finished a 2 week work placement at the local women’s hospital (soon to be the IVF capital of Europe apparently -yay). I will write about it when I get a chance, I promise. For now just let me say that it was a rollercoaster of emotions and I couldn’t really concentrate on anything else. My body is not used to going to work 9 to 5 Monday to Friday. I was aching all over for days. Midwives are some of the busiest people I have ever observed. At work, they power walk everywhere and never stop. No time for breaks, a snatched cup of tea if they are lucky and perhaps some chocolate left by grateful parents. A high work load, heaps of responsibility and pressure… and it can be emotional thrown into the bargain. And still I wasn’t put off. In fact I want to be one of them more than ever even though some of the midwives assure me this means I’m crazy. I loved my placement and really didn’t want it to end.

I’m working on the dreaded university application at the moment, too. Yeah, selling myself is not my strong point and competition for places on this course is soo tough (about 400 applicants for 16 or so places). I’m writing and re-writing  my supporting statement – you know the bit where I have to explain why I want to be a midwife and why on earth they should give ME a place… me. Me. Ohh pick me…  pleeease !  I cannot wait until this form is sent off and at the same time I want to make sure I get it right. It’s pressing on my mind a lot lately. There’s a lot riding on this application :S stress.

On top of all this, I’m going out of town for two weeks to take a very special trip… which I might be allowed to tell you about when I return but I need some permission first. I’m excited! I have a feeling I could be in for another emotional rollercoaster… and I’m excited! I’m not going to have any internet access while I’m away… sooo …this is a hello… goodbye post. See, I told you I was busy busy. I’ll be back, I promise. I’ll be catching up on my reading list too. I haven’t forgotten you. I’m thinking of you and wishing you the best.

Take care…

Ali xX

2 thoughts on “Still here … sort of.

  1. Enjoy your trip! I can’t wait to hear more!

    I don’t think you were “running scared” when you decided not to take the part that was offered. I think that your views have changed. You still appreciate drama and the theater, but it may not be your love anymore. Now midwifery is your love. It’s OK to change your mind as you get older. You did try out, though. That’s what it’s important here, hon. You faced your fears and your anxiety! That’s HUGE! I couldn’t EVER get on a stage. You’re AMAZING! Good work!
    *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

