Priceless

Family time – I finally made it up to visit my mother’s parents in their new house which they moved into last JULY, almost a year ago. I fail as the loving granddaughter but between college, volunteering and other things that have happened this year I just never seemed to have a few days in a row with which to make the trip to see my granny and granddad.

Happy that I finally made it to make some memories in this new abode. Troon on the west coast of Scotland has been home to members of my mum’s family for years and I’ve always liked the seaside town. Gran was like queen of her new castle; pleased as punch she told me she had always wanted a bungalow. Finally in her late eighties her wish has come true. She wishes they had done it years ago… and to be honest so do I. This newer, smaller more accessible home with the all important garden big enough for two suits them perfectly.

There are, of course, the numerous comical stories which result from staying with a couple who have been married 65 years. YES 65!!  Who are both well into their eighth decade.

Quiet time – my granddad whose hearing is failing “accidently” forgets to put his hearing aid in some days just to get a few hours peace from the women invaders (my gran, my mother and me).  Much shouting and confusion results and he just smiles.

Teamwork- My granddad still drives but can’t always remember where he’s going.  He needs his navigator in the front seat yelling in her broad Scottish accent “It’s the other way! TURN AROUND!!”   There is nothing like approaching a junction in the road and barely hearing the driver mumble “now is this one a roundabout or a junction?”  The journeys have gotten much more hair raising for me ever since I’ve been learning to drive and have some clue what’s meant to be happening in a car.

Dinner time – My loving granny always makes a dinner for me after my long journey. Unfortunately this time she forgot that I’m able to chew my food and don’t need her special modifications which make their meals denture proof.  I swallowed it anyway. I mean she’s been making me dinners for nearly 28 years.  It’s not in my heart to tell her to stop.

Bed time – I felt like a 5 year old again when I found out I would be sleeping on an inflatable mattress at the end of my mummies’ bed. I fought for half an hour to get the thing inflated and having not slept the night before I even had an earlier bed time. You should have seen my grandparent’s expressions when on pouring their night caps the kid calmly rejects the weak orange and states that she’ll have a brandy as well please.  That brandy helped me sleep but so did listening to my grandparents talking and giggling in bed together like teenage lovers. Age- its just a number huh?

Money – Granddad strongly expressing his disapproval as I try to treat them to lunch during one outing. He shot across the dinning room and practically pushed me out of the way! Later they both tell me “we go out for lunch a lot now, seeing as we are not able to go on holidays anymore we have to find someway to spend our money.”  I giggled.  Grandparents: you rock! 

Love – I was awoken one night by my grandmothers shouting. It turns out my granddad bless him had fallen asleep during one of his several nightly trips to the bathroom (bladders age too people!) After he had been away from bed for a while his wife had become concerned. I hear her shouting through the bathroom door, I actually hear my granddad wake up – he must have been sound asleep. Granny goes back to bed but only after she’s been told three times I’m OK! through the bathroom door.   

Yeah they have a lot of little quirks that have come with age, but you know as a person who is fiercely independent I have got to express my admiration. They are still living independently, looking after each other and having a good time.  My granddad growing the veg and his wife making the garden look pretty tending to her flowers!  Hopefully will be well into the future..

We’ve had out ups and downs over the years, but the smiles when I walked through the door and the hugs their surprise visitor received… those my friends are priceless.

I had to share my granny was oh so proud of this. She called it her prettiest flower. It graces her garden opening up only on very sunny days.

Ali
xx

Leave a Reply

