Working for my keep!

Today is a BIG day for me: well at least in my head it is. You see my friends, today is the day that I am officially not on Incapacity Benefit anymore! YAY! I’m no longer dependant on the tax payers’ handouts to keep me fed or put a roof over my head! Instead I work for my keep and after 3 years that feels soooo good.

Okkk so technically I still am dependant on the tax payer in the form of my NHS (small) bursary which will support me though my training, but at least I’m doing SOMETHING, and if you for one second think that your paying the way for some lay-about student, I’ll be happy to send over my timetable and self taught schedule and you’ll see I’m working hard for those few pennies. 😀

I’m not for one second casting blame or judgment on anyone who does get their income from the welfare state here in the UK. The system is there for a reason and I am very grateful for it, but ever since I was put onto sickness benefit back in the dark days of depression and medical issues it has been my goal to go back to work and do something that really makes a difference.

Now at last I feel like I’m on the road to that goal, I feel like a productive member of society again with a role and a function and a valuable contribution to make. It’s hard work and sometimes I still struggle, but hay at least the days of each week no longer merge into one looong day, I know today is Tuesday and I have a ton of things to do today I have structure and routine, achievements and challenges. Yep right now I have a long list of tasks all of them challenging, and it feels GREAT!

Bring it on world … the (next) adventure starts here and I’m ready…. I think :S

Ali xX

Leave a Reply

